MINUTES: UBLY COMMUNITY SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING June 10, 2024

The Ubly Community Schools Board of Education met in regular session on Monday evening, June 10, at 7:00 p.m. in the Library. Board members were present namely: Brad Hagen, Jake Maurer, Clint Hagen, Ryan Kramer, Joe Stacer, Angie Hughes & tammy Peruski. Also in attendance was Joseph Candela, Superintendent.

The agenda was reviewed. A motion was made by Joe Stacer and was seconded by Ryan Kramer to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

The minutes of the May 16, 2024 Policy Committee Meeting were reviewed. It was moved by Angie Hughes and was seconded by Tammy Peruski to approve the minutes as written. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

The minutes of the May 20, 2024 Regular Meeting were reviewed. It was moved by Angie Hughes and seconded by Jake Maurer to approve the minutes as written. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

The minutes of the June 6, 2024 Finance Committee Meeting were reviewed. It was moved by Angie Hughes and seconded by Joe Stacer to approve the minutes as written. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

The financial reports for May 2024 were approved by Ryan Kramer and seconded by Brad Hagen. The General Fund balance sheet shows cash balance of \$1,212,001.68. Total General Fund Accounts Payable Accruals including Payroll amounted to \$913,744.81. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

The following students were commended by the Administration & Board for being May Students of the Month:

Elementary:

May Students of the Month:

1st Grade – Isaac Tenbusch

1st Grade – Hannah Plester

1st Grade – Aiden Bishop

2nd Grade – Kady Dekoski

2nd Grade – Leah Lindquist

2nd Grade – Brynley Weltin

3rd Grade – Phoebe Coddington

3rd Grade - Aleigha Shaltonis

4th Grade – Luke Workman

4th Grade - Nick Grifka

5th Grade – Avery Simpson

5th Grade – Alex Dropeski

Grand Prize: Lucas Klebba

White Ticket Winners: Mrs. Learman & Mrs. Hudson Staff Member Commendations: Paraprofessionals

Jr/Sr High School Staff Members of the Month: Mr. Becker & all Jr. High & High School teaching staff

A motion was made by Brad Hagen and was seconded by Jake Maurer to approve the MHSAA Membership. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

A motion was made by Angie Hughes and was seconded by Tammy Peruski to approve the MASB Renewal. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

A motion was made by Brad Hagen and was seconded by Jake Maurer to approve the 24-25 Fall Coaches as presented. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

A motion was made by Joe Stacer and was seconded by Tammy Peruski to accept the retirement of Stewart Kieliszewski with regret. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

A motion was made by Tammy Peruski and was seconded by Joe Stacer to approve the New Hire – Shannon Nowiski – as JV Volleyball Coach. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

A motion was made by Ryan Kramer and was seconded by Jake Maurer to approve the New Hire – Kylie Maurer as 8th Grade Volleyball Coach. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

A motion was made by Ryan Kramer and was seconded by Jake Maurer to approve the NEOLA policies as presented. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

A motion was made by Jake Maurer and was seconded by Joe Stacer to go into Closed Session for Superintendent Quarterly Review. A roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Brad Hagen, Jake Maurer, Clint Hagen, Ryan Kramer, Joe Stacer, Angie Hughes, & Tammy Peruski. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

A motion was made by Jake Maurer and seconded by Joe Stacer to go into Open Session. A roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Brad Hagen, Jake Maurer, Clint Hagen, Ryan Kramer, Joe Stacer, Angie Hughes, & Tammy Peruski. Motion carried on a 7-0 vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:42 pm.

The next Regular Meeting is scheduled for Monday, July 8 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Library.