MINUTES: UBLY COMMUNITY SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING December 13, 2023

The Ubly Community Schools Board of Education met in regular session on Monday evening, December 18, 2023, at 7:00 p.m. in the Library. Board members were present namely: Tammy Peruski, Angie Hughes, Joe Stacer, Ryan Kramer, Clint Hagen, & Jake Maurer. Board members absent were namely Brad Hagen. Also in attendance was Joseph Candela, Superintendent.

The agenda was reviewed. A motion was made by Ryan Kramer and was seconded by Tammy Peruski amend the agenda by adding 9.5 – Michigan Merit – MME Changes. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

A motion was made by Ryan Kramer and was seconded by Angie Hughes to approve the agenda as amended. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

The minutes of the November 13, 2023 Regular Meeting were reviewed. It was moved by Jake Maurer and was seconded by Joe Stacer to approve the minutes as written. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

The financial reports for November 2023 were approved by Ryan Kramer and seconded by Jake Maurer. The General Fund balance sheet shows cash balance of \$2,626,035.23. Total General Fund Accounts Payable Accruals including Payroll amounted to \$780,253.08. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

The following students were commended by the Administration & Board for being November Students of the Month:

Elementary:

1st Grade – Colton Pionk

1st Grade – Aubrey Gutleber

1st Grade – Easton Rutkowski

2nd Grade – Brynley Weltin

2nd Grade – Raylen Hagle

2nd Grade – Alison Klee

3rd Grade - Craig Walsh

3rd Grade – Harper Belden

4th Grade – Trey Barnes

4th Grade – Miles Budsisz

5th Grade – Rylee Guza

5th Grade – Broden Peruski

White Ticket Winners: Mrs. Smalley & Mrs. Wright

Grand Prize Winner: Brantley Grifka

Staff Member Commendations:

Kelly Camp, Jessica Roth, & Jason Harris for the locker decorations

Amy Schmitz, Mark Dekoski, & Terry Dekoski for Christmas Program Special Education Department: Holly Emerick, Brooke Hessling, Jessie Gornowich, & Mary Beth Klee

ISD Special Education Department: Holly Wasierski, Morgan Wisenbaugh, & Alison Rothe

Jr. & Sr. High School Students of the Month

6th Grade – Jason Baum

7th Grade – Emma Briolat

8th Grade – Kennedy Messing

9th Grade - Irelyn Wolschleger

10th Grade – Suzanne Smigielski

11th Grade – Daniel Zdrojewski

12th Grade – Leah Schumacher

Jr/Sr High School Staff Members of the Month: Heidi Mausolf & Vicki Pfaff

A motion was made by Ryan Kramer and was seconded by Jake Maurer to approve the NEOLA polices as presented for the Fall Update 2023. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

A motion was made by Jake Maurer and was seconded by Tammy Peruski to accept the Huron County CTE Early Middle College Resolution. A roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Jake Maurer, Ryan Kramer, Joe Stacer, Angie Hughes, Tammy Peruski, & Clint Hagen. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

A motion was made by Angie Hughes and was seconded by Joe Stacer to approve the Positive Behavior Support contract as presented. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

A motion was made by Joe Stacer and was seconded by Jake Maurer to approve the Heat Exchanger Bid from Shetler in the mount of \$34,000.00 Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

A motion was made by Angie Hughes and was seconded by Tammy Peruski to approve the MME/Science Changes in Policy Handbook. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

A motion was made by Jake Maurer and was seconded by Ryan Kramer to go into closed session for Quarterly Review & Superintendent Evaluation. A roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Jake Maurer, Ryan Kramer, Joe Stacer, Angie Hughes, Tammy Peruski, & Clint Hagen. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

A motion was made by Jake Maurer and was seconded by Joe Stacer to go into open session. A roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Jake Maurer, Ryan Kramer, Joe Stacer, Angie Hughes, Tammy Peruski, & Clint Hagen. Motion carried on a 6-0 vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:41 pm.

The next Regular Meeting is scheduled for Monday, January 8, 2024 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Library.

Tammy Peruski, Secretary